Launch of the Acute Anaphylaxis Clinical Care Standard

Enter your registered email address below to view the On-demand recording:

If you are joining the webcast from a hospital or government department, your connection may be blocked behind a firewall or other restrictions - it is recommended that you use a computer, laptop or tablet outside your organisation’s network.


Wednesday 24 November 2021

What Time?

01:00 PM AEDT - 02:00 PM AEDT

Click here to view your time zones.

Join our webcast

Register now for the launch of Australia’s first national clinical care standard on acute anaphylaxis, hosted by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care.

Anaphylaxis presentations to emergency departments in public hospitals grew by 51% in the five years to 2019–20. Despite awareness of allergy, and anaphylaxis guidelines, fatalities still occur for some patients who experience anaphylaxis. 

Emergency department clinicians, paramedics, GPs and other community-based clinicians play a key role in safe patient care. 

Hear from the experts 

Join us to learn more about managing anaphylaxis, including: 

  • Barriers to prompt recognition of anaphylaxis 
  • Appropriate treatment for severe allergic reaction 
  • Safe discharge back into the community 
  • Best practice care after anaphylaxis. 

For more information, visit

Register Today!

Privacy Policy

You will receive a confirmation email from Redback Connect when you register. 

If you experience any technical issues before or during the webinar please call our support number 1800 733 416 for assistance. 


Associate Professor Amanda Walker – Clinical Director, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

Amanda is a Specialist in Palliative Medicine in the Southern Highlands of NSW who has led statewide quality improvement work at the Clinical Excellence Commission in NSW, as well at the Commission. She led the development of the Acute Anaphylaxis Clinical Care Standard, and is passionate about improving the appropriateness of care.


Dr Peter Leman – Emergency and Acute Medical Physician, Fiona Stanley Hospital Perth WA

Peter practises in one of Australia’s busiest emergency departments. He has represented the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine at the Australian Resuscitation Council for more than 10 years, with extensive experience in developing resuscitation guidelines. Peter is current Chair of the hospital’s Recognising and Responding to Acute Deterioration Governance Committee.  

Dr Preeti Joshi – Paediatric Clinical Immunology/Allergy Specialist and Staff Specialist of Allergy and Immunology, The Children’s Hospital, Westmead NSW

Preeti is Co-chair of the National Allergy Strategy, representing the Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy (ASCIA). She has an active role in teaching and research, in addition to running a busy practice in clinical allergy and immunology. Preeti has a special interest in paediatric food allergy, eczema and allergic rhinitis. She has wide experience in the management of allergic and immunologic conditions in children.

Adjunct Associate Professor Alan Eade ASM – Chief Paramedic Officer, Safer Care Victoria, and Department of Paramedicine, Monash University

Alan contributed to the development of the Safer Care Victoria guidelines for management of anaphylaxis. He is also an intensive care paramedic with Ambulance Victoria, a volunteer and chair of the national clinical governance committee of St John Ambulance Australia, and fellow and past-vice president of the Australasian College of Paramedicine.

Dr Joanne Simpson – General Practitioner, Sandringham VIC, with a special interest in allergic disease

Joanne is an experienced GP and former Chair of the Allergic Disease Specific Interest Group of RACGP. She has a Graduate Certificate in Allergic Disease from the University of Western Sydney.