Global Debate; Nursing Homes should be abolished



When?

Wednesday, September 2, 2020

What Time?

06:00 AM AEST - 07:30 AM AEST

Where?

ONLINE




We hope you enjoy the recording of the debate. Due to technical issues during the live event some parts are disjointed, and we are in the process of editing this for a more pleasant viewing experience. We will be in touch once this clean version is available. Thank you for supporting this event and Capacity Australia


Login below to watch the recording:


What's your time zone?

Sydney: 6:00 am, 2 September 2020
London: 9:00 pm, 1 September 2020
Toronto: 4:00 pm, 1 September 2020
Tel Aviv: 11:00 pm, 1 September 2020
Copenhagen: 10:00 pm, 1 September 2020


About the webinar

Capacity Australia, supported by senior UN representatives, international senior human rights colleagues and senior health and aged care professionals will bring you a live debate on the need and relevance of Nursing Homes in society. The systemic, political and human failures in the aged care sector have been laid bare during the COVID crisis at an international level. In Australia we are also in the midst of a Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety and this debate is timely as we navigate the economic, health and human rights issues surrounding aged care.


To learn more about Capacity Australia please go to www.capacityaustralia.org.au


Moderator:

Professor Andrew Byrnes (Professor of International Law, UNSW Sydney)


Presenters:

For the Affirmative

Professor Gerard Quinn (Professor Emeritus in Law at the National University of Ireland (Galway))

Professor Israel (Issi) Doron (Head – Center for Research and Study of Aging University of Haifa, Israel )

Professor Henry Brodaty (Director, Dementia Centre for Research Collaboration, UNSW Sydney, Psychogeriatrician POWH)

Dr Linda Steele (Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Technology Sydney)


Opposing:

Professor Titti Mattsson (Professor of Law, Lund University Sweden)

Professor Kiran Rabheru (Professor of Psychiatry, University of Ottawa, Medical Director of the Geriatric Psychiatry, Electroconvulsive Therapy (ECT), and the Behavioral Support Programs at The Ottawa Hospital)

Professor Liat Ayalon (The Psychological Aspects of Ageing Research Lab, School of Social Work, Bar Ilan University, Israel)

Professor Susan Kurrle (Clinical Director Aged Care and Rehabilitation for Northern Sydney LHD, Director NHMRC Cognitive Decline Partnership Centre, University of Sydney)


Register for the Webinar!


Registration - Step 1 of 2

$180.00
1 x $180.00
GST included into total $16.36
Select price*
AUD

                    


Presenters:

Professor Andrew Byrnes

Professor Gerard Quinn

Professor Israel (Issi) Doron


Professor Henry Brodaty

Dr Linda Steele


Professor Titti Mattsson


Professor Kiran Rabheru

Professor Liat Ayalon

Professor Susan Kurrle



Sponsored by