New standard for third and fourth degree perineal tears

Already registered?

Enter your registered email address below to view the live webcast:

(Login access commences 30 minutes prior to start time)

If you are joining the webcast from a hospital or government department, your connection may be blocked behind a firewall or other restrictions - it is recommended that you use a computer, laptop or tablet outside your organisation’s network.


Wednesday, 21 April 2021

What Time?

01:00 PM AEST - 02:00 PM AEST

Click here to view your time zones.

Join our webcast

Register now for the launch of Australia’s first national clinical care standard on third and fourth degree perineal tears, hosted by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care.

Hear experts from midwifery, obstetrics and physiotherapy discuss key aspects of care for women, during pregnancy, labour and after a third or fourth degree tear. You will learn practical ways to reduce this maternal risk and build better outcomes for women.

About 3% of all Australian women who have a vaginal birth will experience a third or fourth degree perineal tear. Rates are higher for women having their first vaginal birth and when instruments are used.

With up to 12-fold variation in rates of third and fourth degree tears across Australia, this national standard will help to increase awareness and implementation of best practice care.

Hear from the experts on:

  • The importance of informing women and keeping them at the centre of decisions about their care
  • How to reduce the risk of a third or fourth degree perineal tear during pregnancy and labour
  • Ways to optimise recovery from a tear through good follow-up care.

For more information, visit

Register Today!

Privacy Policy


Professor Anne Duggan, Clinical Director, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

Anne is a Clinical Director at the Commission and a highly respected gastroenterologist with significant leadership experience in a range of healthcare settings. She is also a Conjoint Professor at the School of Medicine and Public Health, University of Newcastle. She is passionate about improving health care services through sharing knowledge and collaborating across the health system.

Associate Professor Emmanuel Karantanis, Obstetrician and Urogynaecologist, St George Hospital, Conjoint Associate Professor UNSW 

Emmanuel undertook his training in Obstetrics and Gynaecology in Sydney and London, where he completed a PhD and urogynaecology certification. He established one of the first clinics in Australia for women experiencing third and fourth degree perineal tears, and conducts clinics for women with pelvic floor and bladder problems at St George Hospital in Sydney.

Professor Hannah Dahlen AM, Professor of Midwifery, Associate Dean, Western Sydney University

Hannah has been a practising midwife for 30 years, and has over 200 published research journal articles and book chapters, including research into perineal comfort and trauma, as well as health service policy. She was awarded a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia for her significant services to midwifery, nursing and medical education and research. 

Ms Natalie McConochie, Physiotherapist, Macquarie Women’s Health Dubbo 

Natalie is a qualified physiotherapist with a special interest in pelvic health. Natalie was instrumental in setting up the Level 4 Senior Women's Health & Paediatric Physiotherapy position at Dubbo Base Hospital in 2010. Since then she has continued to focus her skills in the area of pelvic floor dysfunction, and has worked in a multidisciplinary women’s pelvic health practice in Dubbo since 2014.

We will also be joined by Janelle Gullan, a woman whose personal experience of a third degree perineal tear inspired her to change the focus of her work. She will share a consumer’s perspective on perineal tears and the importance of acknowledgment, information and support. Janelle is also an occupational therapist with a strong interest in women’s and maternal health.

The clinical care standard will be launched by Professor Villis Marshall AC, Chair of the Board of the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care.